Category Archives: Uncategorized

46 years ago today, July 20, 1969 Neil Armstrong sets foot on the moon!

Book Talk guest Mandy Smith author Cabin Fever The Sizzling Secrets of a Virgin Airlines Flight Attendant

Mandy Smith
You may order the book in the search box below:

WTMY Artist Spotlight Ocean’s 11 Big Band Remote Broadcast

Doug Miles and Danny Lane host this remote broadcast of the Ocean’s 11 Big Band from Sarasota, FL recorded July 11, 2015 featuring interviews with bandleader Bryan Post, band member Jack Keeling and singer Rob Satori.

Ocean’s Eleven Big Band to perform this Saturday at Copa Restaurant in Sarasota. WTMY Radio to record show for future broadcast

“Oceans Eleven” is an exciting 11 piece Big Band that plays all the dance favorites of the Big Band Era by Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Artie Shaw, Buddy Rich, Benny Goodman, Glen Miller and Louis Armstrong. Also included are Latin & contemporary dance tunes. Special Guest vocalist Rob Satori.

The band will be performing this Saturday (July 11) at the Copa Restaurant, 1118 N.Washington Ave. Sarasota, FL from 6 to 9 PM EDT.

Oceans 11

WTMY 1280 AM radio will be there recording the show for future air with hosts Doug Miles and Danny Lane.

WTMY 1280 AM
WTMY 1280 AM

There is a $5 cover charge. Call 941-953-2479 for reservations.

Book Talk guest Tim Weiner author One Man Against the World The Tragedy of Richard Nixon

Tim Weiner
You may order the book in the search box below:

Book Talk guest Mitch Russo author The Invisible Organization: How Ingenious CEO’s Are Creating Thriving, Virtual Companies

Mitch Russo
You may order the book in the search box below:

WTMY Artist Spotlight Billie Holiday featuring an interview with John Szwed author Billie Holiday The Musician and the Myth

Sarasota Film Festival Announces New Programming Team for 2015 Edition

(Sarasota, FL) The Sarasota Film Festival is pleased to announce new programmers will join its staff ahead of the 17th Annual Festival this spring. Michael Dunaway will serve as Director of Programming along with programmers Maggie MacKay, Derek Horne and Caley Fagerstrom; Nadine Zylberberg will serve as the new social media manager.

“The Sarasota Film Festival is thrilled to welcome this outstanding creative team,” said President Mark Famiglio. “This talented group with varied backgrounds will allow the Festival to present the hearts and minds of independent films to our ever-expanding audience.”

Director of Programming, Michael Dunaway currently is the Editor of the Film Section of Paste Magazine, and the Founding Partner of Gasoline Films and of Poitier & Dunaway Motion Pictures.

Programmer, Maggie MacKay has over fourteen years experience as a festival programmer, including working at Sundance and AFI Fest, and most recently serving as Senior Programmer of LA Film Festival and Director of Nominations for the Indie Spirit Awards.

Programmer, Derek Horne has returned to his hometown of Sarasota after spending the last 11 years mentoring film students at Chapman University’s film school in California and prior to that working in film acquisitions in New York City. He has 20 years of experience working for various films festivals, including Sundance, Anaheim International Film Festival, Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival, Newport Beach Film Festival and Santa Fe Independent Film Festival.

Programmer, Caley Fagerstrom, has previously worked at the Sarasota Film Festival in Programming, as well as serving as a Production Apprentice at the Telluride Film Festival.
Nadine Zylberberg currently serves as Social Media Manager for both the festival and The New Yorker Magazine.

The 17th Annual Sarasota Film Festival will take place April 10-19, 2015. Submissions for SFF’s Young Filmmaker Showcase are open until February 27, 2015.

Follow us at

CBS Sports Announces NFL Broadcast Teams for 2014 Season

(New York, N.Y.) The CBS Television Network will begin its 55th year of broadcasting the NFL with Jim Nantz, Phil Simms and Tracy Wolfson leading THE NFL ON CBS into the Network’s 2014 NFL season. Nantz, Simms and Wolfson will call the full slate of Thursday Night Football games on CBS and the NFL Network, along with selected Sunday games on CBS. Sean McManus, Chairman, CBS Sports, and Executive Producer, THE NFL ON CBS, announced today several changes to the 2014 announcer line-up along with the complete list of broadcast pairings.

Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts have been named THE NFL ON CBS’s No. 2 announce team and will call the network’s top game on Sundays when Nantz and Simms do not call a game.

Wolfson, who served as the Network’s lead college football reporter for the past 10 years, will join the lead announce team of Nantz and Simms as THE NFL ON CBS lead reporter. In addition to Wolfson, THE NFL ON CBS will use additional sideline reporters during the season including Jenny Dell and Evan Washburn.

CBS Sports

Other pairings this season include Greg Gumbel teaming up with newcomer Trent Green, Kevin Harlan with Rich Gannon, Spero Dedes with Solomon Wilcots, and Andrew Catalon forming a three-man booth with Steve Tasker and Steve Beuerlein.

James Brown once again will anchor the CBS Television Network’s pre-game studio show, THE NFL TODAY, along with analysts Boomer Esiason, Bill Cowher, and newcomers Tony Gonzalez and Bart Scott, from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York City. Jason La Canfora will continue to serve as the “NFL Insider.”

Following are the Network’s NFL announcer pairings for the 2014 season (play-by-play/analyst):

Jim Nantz/Phil Simms//Tracy Wolfson
Ian Eagle/Dan Fouts
Greg Gumbel/Trent Green
Kevin Harlan/Rich Gannon
Spero Dedes/Solomon Wilcots
Andrew Catalon/Steve Beuerlein/Steve Tasker

Game coverage also will include play-by-play announcers Brian Anderson and Tom McCarthy, as well as analysts Adam Archuleta and Chris Simms.

Follow me on